182nd Annual Convention, November 22-23

The 182nd Annual Convention of the Diocese of Chicago took place on Friday, November 22 and Saturday, November 23 at the Westin Chicago Lombard at the Yorktown Center in Lombard.

Election Results

The 182nd Convention elected these leaders:

General Convention Deputies, Lay
Crystal Plummer, Louisa McKellaston, Sandra McPhee, Matthew Zaradich, Lay Alternates Christian Clough (1st), Newland Smith

General Convention Deputies, Clergy
M.E. Eccles, Kate Spelman, Andrea Mysen, Greg Millikin
Clergy Alternates: Fran Holliday (1st), Jenny Replogle, Jess Elfring-Roberts, Jeremy Froyen

Standing Committee
Jeannette DeFriest, Miguel Briones (clergy) and Laura Singer (lay)

Bishop and Trustees
Susan Sommer (clergy), David Arch and Penny Mandziara (lay)

Cathedral Chapter
Fran Holliday

View the nominations packet in English and Spanish.

Episcopal Appointments

Download the list of Bishop Lee’s appointments to diocesan governance bodies.


Convention approved seven resolutions and the Constitution and Canons Amendments outlined below. Download the resolutions as approved by convention.

Constitution and Canons Amendments

Convention approved the second and final reading of an amendment to Article 16 of the diocesan constitution, titled The Election of a Bishop. Convention also approved amendments to Canon 12, Canon 14, Canon 33, and Canon 35b. Download the updated Constitution and Canons.

Resolutions from General Convention

At Diocesan Convention we reviewed resolutions from General Convention. View the resolutions in English and Spanish.


View the 2020 budget, as approved by Diocesan Council.
Download the narrative budget.


Watch Bishop Lee’s convention sermon.

Watch the keynote presentation by Casper ter Kuile and Angie Thurston.


Commissions, committees and task forces of the diocese submit annual reports to Diocesan Convention. In 2019 reports were submitted by the Anti-racism Commission, Archives and Records, Audit Review Committee, The Bishop and Trustees, Clergy Compensation Committee, Clergy Relief Society, Commission on Global Ministry, Committee on Hunger, Commission on Ministry, Diocesan Council, Episcopal Charities,Peace & Justice Committee, Standing Committee, Trustees of the Endowment Fund, and the Health Insurance Annual Report. View the reports in English and Spanish.


Contact Angel Langley or Jihan Murray-Smith, co-chairs of the Convention Planning Committee if you have questions about Convention.